Mono Monday . . . Cultural

Curving flowing lines
Sinuous chiseled spirals
Cultural patterns


No surprises that I would choose something relating to the Maori culture living as I do in a top tourist destination.  I had to go out to the doctor so I did a drive by to Ohinemutu Maori Village home to the Ngati Whakaue tribe.  Visitors are welcome to walk around and take photos.  It was very quiet today.  The Maori people brought a culture, which included kowhaiwhai patterns, from Polynesia hundreds of years of ago.  I love the way they curve and flow.  The patterns differ from tribe to tribe.  I'm pretty sure the black and white painted pattern is Ngutu Kaka based on the Kaka Beak flower.  The other object is an intricately carved post.  I have put another view in extras so you can see the context.  In the background you will see a carved marble angel.  The European culture came to Ohinemutu later and the two cultures seem to exist side by side.  I'm sorry I can't remember the significance of this little structure.  I have notes on it at school so I could always add the info later.
Thank you Ingeborg for this months challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.