Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Swim with Heart

Challenge Juliana's Blip of me earlier this week in London

It's been a while. Funny, my last Blip being a pool shot too.

Back from London, feeling a little homesick and of course thinking that the grass is greener back home (well, it most certainly is that. Even in August when traditionally I would have flown over the familiar site of yellow fields). But quickly the sun seduces and I realise it's not all bad here after all. It's just different, very different and almost 10 years on, I'm not sure estrangement from my cultural identity, the idiosyncracies will ever seem the norm.

Was up at 4am feeding Reuben and quickly decided I'd stay up and get back to work on account of jetlag. Swim lesson with Swim with Heart who've restored Calllum's confidence in the water and given Reuben's body ultimate freedom. Then followed by the Ye Olde Kings Head to catch the Olympics due to not having a TV connection at home (gosh how does America suffer these mindless and utterly disruptive commercials and that's coming from a former head of advertising herself). Was then enlightened to see a BBC feed via their net connection onto the pub's screens. We'll be back on Sunday for the closing ceremony. The Opening Ceremony saw Callum and I in Hyde Park for the concert, him sitting on my shoudlers for most of it despite being in the front row whilst I haggled with my camera in the rain. Multi tasking at its best. Greatest night out ever in London.

Back home this afternoon, Kristina arrived to care for Reuben and we all jumped in next door's pool as they're still in Europe. We met up for 5 minutes max in Covent Garden as their friend had Olympic tickets for me and whilst the water polo was the most bizarre sport ever, I did get to stand by the stadium and hear the roars from the 100m final, apparently the most watched Olympic moment in its history. Callum is quickly gaining his lost confidence in the water once again thanks to the wonderful skills of teacher Mikey and her team at Swim with Heart. Reuben utterly loves the water and I believe we'll be swimming with dolphins in the Florida Keys with the Make a Wish Foundation in the Autumn which will surely be the most incredible experience ever. The programme is specifically geared towards children with disabilities and special needs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.