Mono Monday - MM140 - CULTURAL

I really wanted to blip a beautiful Jersey Cow, as they are a real cultural icon of the island, but I couldn't find any in suitable ones to photograph.

On the way back to the car I stopped by the chicken man's allotment and snapped this handsome cockerel whilst he stared at me and the camera

I didn't realise that cockerels are symbols in so many cultures and religions including, Norse mythology, Astro- mythology, Buddhism, Hinduism, Judaism and Christianity. Going back to Roman times the cockerel was already of symbolic importance in Gaull at the time of the invasion of Julius Caesar and was associated with the god Lugus.] Today the Gallic rooster is an emblem of France.

A bit of cultural information about the humble cockerel for Mono Monday. Thanks to Inge for hosting this month. More entries here if you fancy a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.