Cross

14.2C with long sunny spells. Light Southerly breeze.

After lunch Maeve the Deerhound and I went for the repeat of our usual morning walking route across the road and round to the park and the harbour and back along through town.

Once Maeve was back home and settled I went for a walk. Fleetwood Mac (Rumours) and Stevie Nicks (In Your Dreams) on the Clip. I went round by the park and the harbour, stopping to get some shots of the cross for Mono Monday on the theme "Cultural", then went along the shore side of the park past the ferry terminal. Instead of going out Kilkerran Road I turned right just before the cemetery and went up the track to the farm and over the stile and though the field that leads to the bottom end of the Beinn Ghuilean Circuit in the forested slopes behind town.

I followed the bottom part of the easy forest trail route up the point where I have started before when coming in from the other direction. The route followed the edge of the forest most of the way so I had unobscured views as I walked. From the start of the forest walk I came back down the forestry road to the edge of town and made my way home. There were good clear views from the forest road today over Campbeltown loch towards Arran and in the other direction all the way up the West coast of Kintyre. The air was very clear after the rain over the weekend.

Afternoon music ... Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, Raising Sand. Alison Krauss, The Essential Alison Krauss.

E-PL5 f/11 1/400 sec. ISO-200 30mm

The inscription for the cross reads as translated from Latin:
This is the cross of Mr Ivar MacEachern once Rector of Kylregan and master Andrew his son Rector of Kilcoman who erected this cross.

The cross dates from approx. 1500 A.D. and now stands at the harbour end of Main Street in a small square in the centre of a road junction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.