Flying Scotsman

I think there is something very 'Boy's Own' about steam trains. We've seen 'The Railway Children' and heard their whistles over the valley which just pull those heart strings taking us rocketing back into a nostalgic past of an  idyllic lifestyle before the motor and diesel.  BUT this was better as we were on it!

The Flying Scotsman which we were lucky to be aboard today didn't disappoint. Standing on the platform with the steam belching clouds around us, the deafening hissing of the release valves and the grunt of the engine showing off the enormous vital power fairly made  the heart race and the adrenalin just course that little bit faster.

A fabulous birthday present for Paul, a friend, from a very imaginative wife, massively ahead of her game I think on the present front here and we were lucky enough to be invited too! Wow! I would say at this point that I think she will have a problem tackling next year's birthday pressy as this was hard to beat in every way!! A perfect day. 

Coming home I learnt Blipfoto was down so couldn't blip at all - a tad annoying as I knew I was off early in the morning

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.