Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On Ullswater

After breakfast, we checked out and I took Pol to see the Castlerigg Stone Circle. "Is it like Stonehenge?" she asked. Not quite, but it's pretty impressive.

It was drizzling steadily which meant there were not too many other visitors. One couple were going around the circle and touching each stone, to feel the energy.

I left Pol at Penrith Station to be reunited with her partner and partner's sister. They had been staying near Hexham in the one hotel I would never recommend.........oh dear!

I found the George Hotel, only to discover that the car park was accessed via a long complicated one way system. I did find my way and was glad to be here. The hotel has been excellent so far.

There are 12 of us with 2 tutors: Mark LIttlejohn and Doug Chinnery. We have 2 minibuses to take us out. It was drizzling and we went to Ullswater for an afternoon on a steamer. Initially I found it hard to produce any convincing images but gradually ideas began to develop.

Here is a tree by the lakeside. It was very dark by now, but this tree showed signs of colour change in some leaves. I really like the twisted trunk and the colours appearing out of the darkness.

Tonight's meal was excellent, if too big.

Mark's wife brought the two boxer pups for us to see. They are 5 months old and very, very, very lively!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.