Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Harlequin duck

I do love this little duck’s design. . and it’s name (histrionicus histrionicus ..meaning actor)  I’ve been seeing some all summer on these rocks which submerge at high tide but only immature or female…this is the first I’ve seen the male breeding finery.  They supposedly breed along fast moving streams but winter along rocky coastlines in the crashing surf.   This is neither of those, being the Salish Sea, but I’m happy they have chosen to be here..It was a beautiful morning so H and I had a row in the Alden a bit to the north..  


The extra shows the female nearby and compares the size to a seagull.   5 minutes earlier this rock was covered with cormorants who are pretty skittish and left when we got too close.   Only then the harlequins climbed on the rock .  the seagull seemed quite unperturbed with it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.