My take

By ianpiper

Spectacular sunset at Chesterton

I had a hunch that the sunset would be good tonight, so headed over to Chesterton. I wasn't disappointed. The clouds looked like red light on crumpled foil - I haven't seen a sunset like this for ages. Loads of cars pulled up along the lane, the occupants taking phone pictures, so I wasn't the only one who thought so. There was even a police car, the driver getting out to capture the scene for his twitter page.

Peculiar footnote to this outing. As I walked back to the car and put my tripod in the boot, a man who had also been taking photos nearby came over to me and said "Where have you been fishing mate?" I goggled. He nodded at my tripod. "Where is the fishing around here?" The camera around my neck and the Billingham bag on my shoulder were clearly insufficient as clues. I very politely said that it was a tripod and I was taking photographs. Of the sunset. Just like he was. Sigh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.