NASA Valkyrie robot encounter

My life has been taken over by robots! Over the past few weeks I've been on the fringes of conversations at work about the creation of a robot lab, at the weekend I started reading The rise of the robots by Martin Ford, and this evening I came face to face with a Valkyrie robot after a wonderfully entertaining talk by Robert Ambrose, Principal Technologist at NASA.

I learnt that we should not worry about humans versus robots, nor about humans or robots. Rather we should welcome humans and robots at work together where robots help humans with scientific discovery - and support their adventures in space.

And now for something completely different: today my cousin TBay has blipped an old photo of my mother aged 19 holding her as a baby in 1959 (by my reckoning). It's very sweet and worth a peek :-)

Exercise today: usual morning sit-ups, weights and stretches, and some walking (to the tram, around Sighthill campus, to the bus, around the University of Edinburgh, and on the way home from Bristo Square - 9,164 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.