Nine holes

I had a nice day, today. I worked from home, this morning, went for a run, popped into the office, and then went up to the Castle Green hotel where I met my chum, Ian, for a gin and tonic (he had been on a course there for the day).

After that I went back over to Kirkby Lonsdale, dropped the car at home, and walked down to the Sun Inn to meet my friend, Chris, for a drink. I met him perhaps a year after we moved onto Underley Farm, just outside the town, in 1992. It's funny to realise that I've only known him a few years less than my university friends (including Ian, above); maybe Chris does now qualify as an 'old friend'!

Regardless of his classification in my taxonomy of friends, we had a splendid time as usual. I mentioned that I was taking the Minx to the nearby Hipping Hall tomorrow night and suggested that he and his wife might join us, at which point he recounted an episode of 'Curb Your Enthusiasm' in which Larry's friend suggests they play golf the next day. Larry says he can't because it's his wife's birthday but his friend persuades him to just play nine holes on the basis that it will only take a couple of hours. (As Chris said, you can guess the rest.)

The suggestion, of course, was that mine was a 'nine holes' suggestion and one that we probably shouldn't proceed with. He is a wiser man than me.

After a couple of drinks with Chris, I made my way back up the hill and then took this photo from the decking, using a slow shutter speed. I was quite pleased with the results. And after that, I went onto Amazon Prime and started watching the first season of 'Curb Your Enthusiasm'; I feel it may have much to teach me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.