Portal

This is the first time - at least as far as I can remember - that I've deliberately photographed the same object as in a previous post (not including photos of my friends and family, that is). Somewhere, deep down, I have a nagging feeling that I didn't do it justice.

At some point they evidently removed the wooden fence between the Whoop Hall inn - built in the early 17th century - and the A65 (built much later). For some reason, this style was left in place, perhaps as a setting for the public footpath sign.

I like it because, despite being in the countryside, it looks so incongruous, bereft of the fence or wall in which you would expect it feature. It reminds me of a stargate or The Veil in Harry Potter; a portal to another place. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.