Today's Special

By Connections

Vintage

It's interesting to see how things increase in value over the years -- these "vintage thread spools" I photographed at Ragfinery today were priced at 50 cents for bare wood and $1 for "with thread." I can remember spools of thread many years ago at 10 cents each...

Here's some extra value to thank you for looking at my blip -- this link to a fascinating history by Coats & Clark to celebrate their 200th anniversary in 2012. 

Click on the little arrow on the righthand side of the "pages" to read it; when you reach the 2012 page, there's a link to download their history timeline PDF, which has even more information than the online version. If you enjoy reading about social history -- industry, fashion, inventions, family businesses, Victorian trade cards, the feminist movement, and more, check it out! 

(I'm slowly exploring the many features of my little RX-100; today's shallow depth of field setting is one that I particularly like. Maybe that's because I'm near-sighted and see most clearly when I'm close to things!)

Blip 1646

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.