Barney Rubble's house

This morning was hijacked by insurance companies. What we expected to be a quick job turned into a marathon event, but we should have known better. Susan needed to renew her car insurance but when she gave details of my two accidents the renewal quotation jumped by 37% owing to me being a greater risk. She's being penalised as a result of me. I tried to find out if the first claim had been resolved, which took over an hour, but apparently it is still being contended by my company. In these cases it is shown as "at fault" even though no decision has been made so every other insurance company regards me at having an "at fault" claim.

We did the customary searches on the internet, declaring my accidents and guess what, found quotes cheaper than the original renewal quote. When Susan rang back she was offered a small discount but nowhere near the new quotation. JUst to be on the safe side we looked for reviews for the new insurers, they were terrible, then we looked at reviews of our current comany and that was terrible too. Bearing in mind the nature of reviews it doesn't seem that we'll be making too bad a decision to move insurers.

So, that was the morning accounted for. After lunch we had time for a walk, which is where I spotted Barny Rubble's house but in truth I could have taken a similar shot at a dozen different places on every walk we do around Bearsted. There is so much building work, extensions, driveways, new this and new that going on in Bearsted that there's a white van at every other house and a skip in every other garden. This bungalow appears to be having an upstairs put in.

We had a very enjoyable evening at Wetherspoon's Society Rooms with Chris and Wendy. It was Steak Club night and my steak was excellent and great value for money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.