Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Why Not?

(my new favorite phrase)

It was a gorgeous evening.  There were puffy clouds in the sky.  It was 6:00 and the temperature had cooled off from a comfortable 84°/29° earlier in the day to a refreshing 74°/23°. As I had about a week ago, I thought I might be able to catch a colorful sunset.  So I put a comfy chair in front of the open garage and sat outside with my phone on Pandora (70's Lite Rock), a bottle of water and my camera.  Since the sun remained in the sky, I wore my big, floppy hat.

And I waited.

As the sun set it became clear there was going to be no color in the sky.  I was so relaxed and content that I didn't use any four-letter words at my disappointment of not having gotten a blip.  Instead, I just started messing around with the phone.

I stayed out and greeted passers-by.  I think the women who walk along my street are pretty rude.  Every one of them (about 5) looked at me when I offered a "Good evening," didn't acknowledge me and kept walking.  What really bothers me is that in this political climate people can't be civil to each other.  I obviously didn't care about their politics but apparently they have to be rude because of mine.  It's very disappointing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.