Seduction

Benbulbin and Ben Whiskin

Benbulbin dominates the skyline of Sligo. It's been in sight every day of this trip, instantly recognisable regardless of its mood, however it's been catching the light, or wherever viewed from. It's physical stature belies its actual height, which is a good bit less than two thousand feet. It's quantitatively a hill but qualitatively a mountain. Most definitely a mountain.

We'd been getting to know each other casually this last few days, the intimacy growing, until today the relationship was finally consummated. The foreplay this morning was tantalising rather than exciting, an easy walk up a quiet valley, following a stream which tumbled more quickly and steeply as we climbed to the plateau from which the mountain has been sculpted by glaciers. An innocuous, featureless approach did not prepare me for the climax, even though I knew it was coming. The soft grass suddenly stopped extending in front of me to reveal nothing but fresh air and a view to the Atlantic Ocean and the beaches we'd been recently exploring.

Call me fickle if you wish, but as I was on the very edge, breathing in her essence, feeling an adrenaline rush, my head was turned by the distant peak of Ben Whiskin. I'd caught sight of this younger sister a couple of days ago, between heavy showers, her curves irresistible. I wanted her. But I had to wait.

The aim was to visit all three of Sligo's Royal Peaks. Next was King's Mountain, almost reached the day before. I wanted to see the view back down the Glencar valley, towards where we'd spent a couple of days walking, including the ascent on Saturday of Truskmore, Sligo's highest and possibly least attractive mountain. Bit of slut really. There are no paths to follow on the plateau. It was a matter of following a bearing and finding a way through the peat cloughs, which often took a bit of doing, some being as much as six foot deep with overhanging edges.

With photographs taken from the regal summit it was then the matter of another long trackless walk to the ridge from which Ben Whiskin is sculpted at its far end. I had been well and truly seduced and such desire can only be satisfied in one way. Her looks from up close and personal did not disappoint. She's a little flighty as mountains go, but that's how I like them most. It proved to be a wonderful end to the day. I slept very well.

More seriously, massive kudos to TJ for putting up with me feeling so mountain horny all day. It was a serious and truly wild walk over difficult terrain. We got back to the car with just a few minutes of daylight left. It was an epic mountain adventure. And she didn't even get her flat white this morning! Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.