Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh, dew make it stop...

Every fall as the weather turns cooler, I can count on finding both carpenter bees and eastern bumble bees who strand themselves at night on flowers.  When morning comes, they are covered with dew and too cold to move about.  Not a fatal situation, but perhaps it makes them more susceptible to predation.  It certainly makes them more susceptible to roving photographers!  It was chilly and overcast this morning so I dashed out, macro lens in hand, to see what I could find on the butterfly bush.  And I was in luck - this very docile male eastern carpenter bee was soggy and cooperative.  

I eventually put an extension tube on the camera and got out the tripod as it was breezy and my hands just weren't steady enough.  I liked that you can see his compound eyes in the large drop over his right eye (your left).  

That started a macro safari through the yard which produced some interesting finds, three of which are posted on Flickr, starting HERE with a metallic copper colored fly.  After spending much of the last 3 days hunched over my computer working on photos, it was nice to get out for a bit.  Rain headed our way for the next few days, so expect I'll be inside more than out.  Sigh.

I will be posting my top picks for Tiny Tuesday tomorrow.  Once again, the job of narrowing it down to several handfuls of favorites seems impossible!  Tune in tomorrow...

Cheers and Happy Hump Day, people.
Debbi

PS:  And one migrant hummingbird at the feeder this morning for about an hour - obviously feeding for the next leg of her journey.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.