Monstrous!

I found this on my way back from the local shops, under an oak tree in regularly mown grass so I doubt it will be there for long. It's bigger than my foot! The little acorn gives some indication of its size.

I think it's one of the several red stemmed boletes, but if anyone knows better, their advice would be most welcome. It's texture was rubbery, it's stem getting bigger higher up and both stem and underside were reddish brown (hopefully shown in extra).

I was leading scouts tonight, with the objective of learning about grid references and how to take a bearing from a map. They gave each other grid refs to find and most did quite well. It's a dry topic though so as ever, there were a few who were harder to engage. I did however say that if anyone gave a grid reference close to my secret treasure location, they would win a chocolate mini roll. That got them trying a bit harder!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.