Aberdeenshire - Day 4 The road to Crovie

Pronounced 'Crivie'!

For my second last day in Cruden Bay (sad face BIG TIME), Stewart & Carol had arranged for lunch at one of their favourite restaurants in Mintlaw, the Saplinbrae.  And they had also arranged for a very special guest Charlie17 to join us.  Yes, I got to meet the very jolly Charlie :), who brought me some Tunnocks tea cakes!  A lovely blipmeet for the three of us, plus Carol, who was very patient as we snapped away at the sights that we got to visit together.

We met up outside the restaurant and walked to the lake at Pitfour, where one of the extras was taken. After a very enjoyable lunch, where I got to learn lots of good stuff about Charlie, we drove out to Gardenstown (Gamrie) where we really felt the blustery winds, and watched the small boats bobbing up and down in the water and had more photo ops at this cute little town.  

Sadly said goodbye to Charlie, Stewart & Carol then drove me to Crovie (above picture).  What a breathtaking view of the cliff and vastness of open spaces.  Very very different from the city of Hong Kong.  We do have open spaces on Lantau, but not as manicured as the Scottish countryside.

Had a quick 'wee' look into the town called Pennan where part of the film 'Local Hero' was filmed, especially a little red phone booth.  Was glad to see that and of course, the theme from the movie was stuck in our heads for a while after.

Headed back home via more lovely open fields and a little bit emotional for me as I realised that my time with the CBLs was soon coming to an end.  But not before Stewart took me to one last stop at Strichen Lake, another place where Charlie and CBL have taken lots of pics.

I've been truly loved and cared for and I have got to share their lives and part of their world.  It's been a wonderful introduction to Scotland and I couldn't have asked for better friends to show it to me.

Some of the extras are just things that were special from the day.
Including my first ever cow photo!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.