Down Memory Lane

It's a chilly, blustery, gray day today, and I've been rooting around in a cupboard in a half-hearted effort to organize its contents.  Most of what's in there is a daunting collection of old photographs in shoe boxes, and piled up in teetering columns of carelessly labeled envelopes.  I think it will prove to be a winter-long project to sort through it all, and scan the few worth holding onto!

This is one that I will definitely be keeping.  I took this photograph in the late summer of 1990, when we were visiting my family on the Maine coast.  We had visited Pemaquid Point that day, and I wanted to get a decent shot for our Christmas card that year.  It really doesn't seem possible that 26 years have elapsed since that day.  Our middle son Tom is the blond boy on the far left.  He is now the father of his own son, with another on the way.  Our oldest son Jamie is in the middle, smiling the same wonderful smile he has today, and Evan -- the baby of the family -- is on the far right, showing a few gaps in his six year-old grin.  He's a father now too.  Hard to believe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.