Massed horns

J-L and I have driven south to spend a couple of days with his sister, E, who I’ve also known for many years. She lives among picture-postcard mountains which I can’t begin either to describe or photograph though I’ve put an aide memoire of my afternoon walk with E (including a minuscule slice of Mont Blanc) and an evening view from close to her terrace in extras.
 
By happy coincidence E was singing in a concert in Geneva this evening – an extraordinary programme of hunting horns, organ and two choirs whose performances wove in and out of each other until they all came together for a mass involving all the performers. I’d never heard hunting horns before, untuneable and widely accepted also to be unplayable, but Trompes de Bonne are not only the champion hunting horn players of France, they also include among their number the individual national champion so I was reassured that all the out of tune-ness was perfectly OK. A most entertaining 90 minutes.
 
If you're both brave and curious enough there's an abysmal recording (which also includes E) of Sanctus from the mass here.

I was conscious this evening of crossing the border into a non-EU country without my passport. I've done it before many times but never quite appreciated how very good that is..


Apologies for not commenting. Far too busy being on holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.