Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bird feeder success. Sort of...

A sunny Sunday morning, perfect for bird watching and Sunday am TV while I had my breakfast. I set up the camera right against the glass this time, focussing on the seed feeder, and waited while watching TV. It's quite a wee rigmarole setting the camera and wifi and remote control, but once I've done that, I can change the camera settings on the iPad, so I choose which feeder to focus on. The seeds were the most popular, so I focussed on them.

Who should come along but two Great Tits (I had to look them up in the bird book) who spent ages at the peanuts. Drat!

I then moved the camera to focus on the peanuts, being sure that the tits would come back. They did not. But several sparrows fluttered about and gobbled the seeds. Double drat!

I then moved to focus on the whole station, so that I'd be sure of getting something. And I did.

A whopping big galumphing pigeon, who stared in at me for a while, then spilled most of the water.

There were no more birds and the sun began to move away from the station, so I gave up and went outside. And there, sunning himself in the garden, was the black cat from the other day! No wonder the birds scarpered and didn't come back.

We had been invited for lunch, but our pal rang to postpone it, and JR spent all morning on the phone, talking school stuff. Then we took Archie up the hill. It was glorious. I texted Janet and Bailey, and they came and joined us. In fact, JR walked round the whole circuit twice today. And Archie did two big runs.

I'll have another go tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.