Leaves, berries, and Edinburgh Castle

Just before lunch today, while I was in the middle of cooking two big beef stews for forthcoming dinner parties (still in my pyjamas!), Mr hazelh shouted to me from the sitting room 'Oh, there is a lady with grey hair coming down the steps'.

We weren't expecting any visitors so I assumed that this would be someone collecting for charity, canvassing for a political party, inviting us to join the church, or similar. She was none of the above, but our old friend Jen, normally resident in Leicestershire, who was in Edinburgh for the weekend helping her daughter look for a flat ahead of a house move from London. It was such a lovely surprise to see them both, and so exciting to hear that Charlotte will be back in Scotland again soon.

This afternoon we headed into town to buy some presents for my colleague Christine. We're holding a wee retirement party for her at work on Wednesday evening. I've bought her a silver necklace, a book, and some gift vouchers. Mr hazelh and I hunted for a blip on the way home again and ended up with this shot of Edinburgh Castle in the beautiful autumn sunshine.

Exercise today: walking (9,662 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.