Fungi Hunt

It's a while since I last walked my local area to explore the places that had lots of fungi last year.  It was a beautiful morning, but the fungi count was  very disappointing!  The stars were a small group of four Amanita fungi - only two in the photo. There were quite a few dead and blackened hulks (possibly Boletes) and patches of Russula (BrittleGills) that were broken into shreds or otherwise eaten by slugs.  Even so there were not the numbers I found last year.  I did photograph one more fungi that is new to me, but I've no idea what it is.

I've been working on my photo book this afternoon (see extra).  It's going to be a zigzag book about Trough House on the North York Moors.  Initially I'd  linked the pages back to front (you'd think as a printmaker I'd know better!)

I've printed another set of pages and already begun to swop the order round.  I need to write a bit more for the back cover to talk about the multiple exposure and the way I hope it encourages each of us to see more in the image than a single shot - after all, in life we do not have one fixed view of a place as our eyes constantly move around allowing our brain to make the connections.  Perhaps a kind of visual poetry though I'm not claiming that all the images work in this way, but I think some of them do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.