Birkett Common

Wow what a feast for the eyes orienteering today!  We drove to south of Kirkby Stephen, to an area called Birkett Common and Wharton Fell on a super clear morning.  This is a part of the country that we are not too familiar with, so it was good to be out in it.  The carpark was high on the fell so we had splendid views of the Howgills.  

I didn't do terribly well on my course, wasting time on three controls because I wasn't tight enough on the navigation, and two of them were pits which were particularly difficult to hit cleanly.  However the changing scenery and lovely day more than made up for any sporting disappointment.

After my run I took the camera back out to blip some competitors and to capture those miles of landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.