Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Well, hello...

This is the sort of day where seeing any sort of insect feels like bonus, and seeing a hoverfly this late in the season...well, that made the blip choice kind of easy.  This wee fly, in the family syrphidae, flew in and perched on a phlox bud just as I was trying (in vain) to get some decent droplet photos.  I think my hands were just too tired to hold the camera as steady as I'd have liked, so the droplets were a bust.  

The weather today was damp, misty and cool.  Actually not bad for working in the yard.

Hubs and I chatted with my parents this morning and then, when it could no longer be avoided, went to work on our little plot of land.  Hubs had a giant pickax while I was wielding a shovel and the two of us went after the root balls of all the nasty invasive stuff.  We carted wheel barrow load after load down to the far corner of our property where we dump weeds and root balls and fallen branches.  Several hours later, with very sore and filthy bodies, we called it a day.  Hot showers and now Hubs is napping on the sofa while I write this.  Pretty much everything on my body hurts at the moment, but the consolation will be having a very big garden space to nurture next summer.  I'm already looking at seeds and sketching plans...  

Dinner tonight will be pasta with a bunch of fresh veggies from our local farm - corn, tiny eggplant, cherry tomatoes and some Tuscan kale.  I'll also mix in some goat cheese to give it a little punch of flavor and probably throw in some fresh mint and parsley.

And now, I'm going to go put some ice on my very sore hands/wrists.  Cheers, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.