The Day of the Eagles....

We had a great time at the Cranberry Festival, followed by going through the flea market that was held on the city's main street, & then had a late lunch. On the way back to the cottage I spotted this eagle out in a field. I could see it ripping into something as it ate, so I hit the brakes and U turned, grabbed the camera, and slowly made my way closer to it. It took off right after I snapped this, but it was too fast for me to adjust the focus so the 2 shots I managed to get off as it took off were blurry. After we got back to the cottage, my brother-in-law took my sister & I for one last pontoon boat ride before he took the boat out of the lake & stored it. He drove down toward the bay, where he'd noticed an eagles' nest the last time they were up, and there, perched above the nest, was a young eagle. It started calling and calling & all of a sudden we see what must be one of the parents come flying in from the West toward the nest. It swooped in & intentionally knocked the young one right off it's perch and into the nest, with the adult on top of it. The adult then hopped up on the branch the young one had been on, looked down at it, let out one loud screech, and took off--looking for all the world like an angry parent telling it's child to stop yelling!! (I've put a couple of pics in the extras). Then we made a circuit of the lake & on the way back there was yet another adult eagle perched on the very top of a birch tree. So exciting to get to see so many of these majestic birds! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.