One small pillow...

...but many memories.

Dear Diary,

This little pillow is on my bed and it has so many memories attached to it.  Dotty made it for my wedding, for the ring bearer to carry. She made it of old men's neckties in the Victorian Crazy Quilt style with lovely stitching.  It makes me think of her and my grandmother and mother as well for they were amazing quilters.  It reminds me of my wedding which was full of promise but which turned to sadness with my husband's diagnosis a few months after the wedding.  He died 7 years later.  It also reminds me of the sweet little boy who carried it who is now in college.

Looking at this little pillow floods me with memories but they are just my memories.  At some point in the not too distant future this will again be just a little handmade pillow.  The history will live in this journal but that's it.  When I go into antique stores I often think of this.  I wonder what memories an object had for someone long gone, all those stories lost.  I suppose that is how it goes but somehow I find that terribly sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.