In Coming!

Dear Diary,

I've been feeding the birds for over a week now and they are enjoying the easy access to seeds.  I could watch them all day.  I sat by the door and tried to get a photograph of their sense of flight, that swirling movement as they come to the feeder.  I've done this in the past but it being St. Francis's birthday today I wanted to try it again.  I like the contrast between the still chickadee on one side and the one in flight on the other.

It is the Fryeburg Fair week and the traffic has picked up on my road.  I went to the fair last year but I don't think I will this year.  The crowds are crazy and the older I get the less tolerant I am to being in crowds it seems.

I prefer the quiet of my porch, my sweet furred and feathered friends and my books.  It seems to be all I need now, well, and this journal that is very much a part of my life.  St. Francis called for radical simplicity.  So did another of my favorites, Henry David Thoreau.  While I will never reach their level of non-attachment to "things" I do embrace their philosophy, "Live simply so others can simply live."  Wise words for all of us to embrace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.