Spoilt for Choice

Took time out in the sun today with a stroll round Southampton’s Ocean Village. Mind you, it was not simply for the sake of an afternoon amble that I was there, but rather to seek out fresh photos in preparation for a new entry tomorrow on the Royal Southampton Yacht Club’s website.
Thankfully there are always a host of opportunities for photography in the marina itself, but this time I was intent on looking back at the clubhouse itself. Spectacular because of its commanding position built out over the water, but I think I see it afresh each time I visit and take time to explore the Village.
In a sense it is because of the boats within the marina which together provide the nautical atmosphere needed  for my particular minds’ eye photo to adequately reflect both life on the water and the special character of the Yacht Club.
This time I took to the pontoons which at water level I expected to provide the dimension I was looking for.  Sure enough, I was not to be disappointed. 

The real dilemma came when I was back home, with time to study rather more photographs than I thought I had taken, and to choose the one which I think will adequately capture the mood of the Club and its activity both on the water and ashore.  In the meantime, here is one to be going along with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.