What is it with Polyfilla?!

I've been attacking the last small bit of the house which has remained untouched since we moved in (only 35 years ago!)  It is the inside of the airing cupboard (actually four cupboards, one containing the hot water cistern).  Its interior still has an ancient flowery wallpaper and bright pink paint so I've been stripping it off, washing down the walls and today it was the turn of filling the holes.  Our house was built in the 1840's so it's never straightforward when we start a job and, being on the end of the terrace, I always feel we are holding up the rest of the street so there is the odd crack here and there!  When I went up in the loft for the decorating stuff, the box contained several tubes of polyfilla - all gummed up.  There were a few choice words, then I made the decision to cut a corner off the bottom and, hey presto it got the stuff moving and made a great shaped tool for applying it - result!  It did mean that I had to use up all the polyfilla so everything has been filled whether it needed it or not.

The next job is to rub everything down, give it another clean and then paint.  I might also do some clearing out of the bedding when I put it all back too, I found our first pair of curtains from when we moved in to a flat together back in 1980 - brown velvet seconds from Lister's Mill Shop.  The flat had a large bow window so when we moved in to our present home, mum made two sets of curtains out of them for the living room!

Once I had cleared up for the day I took a walk to the garden centre for some fresh air and a bit of exercise, and to get some bits and pieces for a fruit basket.  We have just changed GP practice after 38 years to one nearer where we live, so the fruit basket is a thank you to the staff.  For many years we had a proper 'family doctor' in Doc H but he retired several years ago and since then it's been a case of you see who is on duty, which doesn't make for building a relationship, nevertheless we have always had good service.  That's the NHS for you!

My blip is looking down to the village cricket pitch and clubhouse from St Ives, taken on my way home. Cottingley Woods are across the valley there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.