Back to School

I went back to school today!  

On 3 September 1966, I started my secondary school life as a very naive little 11 year old.  I was fortunate that I got a place at the school I had been desperate to go to - a girls' High School about 8 miles from home which necessitated a 30 - 40 minute bus ride each way .  I can't remember why I wanted to go there, but I suspect it was because I preferred the lovely pale green blouses and blazer with beautiful braid and the Worcestershire pear tree as the badge, to the rather gaudy bright gold blouses of the local mixed grammar school!

We were able to go back this morning for a performance by some of the students, a tour of the school and lunch.  About 70 of us went, most of us into our sixties now, and the school made us so welcome!  We all had a great time, sharing memories and stories.  The old part of the school has hardly changed at all, but that is a very small part of the current school which has been extended over a fair portion of the playing fields.  The old netball courts are still there and I spent many happy hours there.  The old science labs have been moved, the hours spent there were not as happy!  This corridor is very similar to how it was except in the 1960s it wasn't carpeted, and the wall on the right hand side used to be wood and metal windows which al made it incredibly cold in winter.  The doors and windows from the classrooms onto the corridor are still exactly the same and are beautiful examples of fittings in  a school built in 1928.

A day of memories and emotions!  A day of pride too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.