Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Turning Leaf

I'd forgotten that today is associated with Tiny Tuesday Challenge.  It just so happened that I had already decided to take a close up focus stack of this leaf, surely one of the first indications of autumn in the northern hemisphere.

Technical: 23 separate shots used to capture the depth of focus needed with this image.  Processed in Helicon Focus using the pyramid rendering method.  After much experiment I find this gives me the best results for my photography.  Each shot was taken at f/8 which allows for the reflection of the underside of the leaf to be totally out of focus.  This provides a strong contrast to the sharpness of the edge of the leaf which would not be possible if I had shut down the aperture to achieve more depth of field.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.