Plus ça change...

By SooB

Batty

At the end of the holidays, Mr B and the kids made some bat boxes, two of which are hung below the kids' windows. There has been a disappointing take up of occupancy, so this morning - on finding a bat in her room, TallGirl went for route one - forced entry. She caught the bat in a loo roll (no, I have no idea how), closed one end, and shoved the other end of the loo roll into the batbox. At lunch time, the loo roll was empty...

In other news, I battled to close the school accounts before the (self-imposed) deadline to get this month's bills out, and was freezing cold as a result. (Must get some heating in the office.) It felt wimpish to put on a cardi, but then it is October. Later, watering the wilting plants in the garden felt less Octoberish (27 degrees today).

Clothes shopping with TallGirl was (relatively speaking) a breeze and CarbBoy had 19.5 out of 20 for his Spanish test. I told him that would do for now but he really needs to pull his socks up next term... And soon he will be adding Occitan to his languages, which I'm very pleased about (our local language. I think telling him it was the official language of lurve - well, of troubadours anyway - may have put him off though).

Much mobile phone organisation, present buying and hexagonal bench research. And then Bake Off catch up. The kids told me I'd easily win. I think they're after something. Cake, probably.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.