West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

Starry starry night

My blip was taken about 1.30am. There is no light pollution at all in the Gobi and the stars looked amazing. It was too dark for any of the distant hills to show up as a foreground to the photo so I just pointed my camera straight at the sky and hoped for the best. I took a few shots but couldn’t take many in case I killed my last battery.

In the morning, the first highlight of the day was stopping in Dalanzadgad, the biggest town in the Gobi, and going to the public bathhouse for a hot shower – the first shower of any kind since leaving Ulan Bator on the 23rd. Bliss!


After lunch we drove (on a nice paved road) north towards Ulan Bator before turning off onto first a dirt road and then no road at all to get to our last destination of the trip. Tsagaan Suvraga means White Stupa but it’s not white and there’s no stupa. It’s an area which apparently used to be under the sea and was eroded leaving interesting shaped cliffs (see the extra). The rocks are crumbly and of a wide range of colours from pink to red to orange. It was dull and cloudy when we were there but I’m sure in the sun the colours are even more vibrant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.