Reflections on a Slice of Cake

IT was worth foregoing breakfast this morning to cash in my John Lewis voucher for a free coffee and cake- lemon drizzle cake if you want to salivate.
I never usually chose cake over a scone, but that free voucher encourages a broadening of choice. To make the event even more pleasant, I was early enough not to have to mingle with the masses and find a window seat overlooking the Calton Hill.

Before food shopping I had time to visit the new TK Maxx in South St David Street.
This is a shop that normally defeats me in finding anything that I like or fit but still intrigues me into entering its doors if I have the opportunity.
I am no good at rummaging rails of disparate garments, but today a pair of sheepskin slippers jumped out at me as I passed and found their way into my bag (with the relevant receipt of course). I think the ones I own at the moment must be at least 10 years old and are threadbare with unwanted ventilation holes. I am happy with my find, being half the price of similar ones in JL.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.