YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Suffragettes

Today we've been to Beamish Musuem.  I absolutely love it there.  For over 60's it costs about £13.50 to get in and you can use the ticket for a whole year and visit as often as you like.  As we live fairly close it is great value for us but even if you live away and visit it's a great day out.

There is always something going on.  Today we were looking around one of the houses and heard lots of noise in the cobbled back lane.  We went out to have a look and lots of school children were standing getting ready to march.  They then proceeded to marche down the main street in two groups.  One group were supposed to be against giving women the vote and were shouting and chanting 'Women can't think, Get back to the kitchen sink.'  Then the suffragettes arrived with their placards and shouting 'Votes For Women.'  I felt like joining them. 

We saw and did loads more and I had the best cheese scone ever in the tea room.

My extra photos are of the train drivers on the Steam Elephant (an early locomotive) at Beamish and also as it is my big sisters birthday today, a photo of my sister and I taken in Portugal a few years ago.  People think we look alike!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.