Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Not for you, Archie!

While I was having my blood test this morning, I also had a flu jab. Today, 12 weeks after the event, I feel my knee has made a marginal improvement, though there is a new shooting pain. I could stand waiting for the green man for a couple of minutes at the crossroads (no jaywalking with a gammy leg) whereas I just couldn't stand before - I'd be leaning on anything handy, possibly groaning quietly to myself.

Becky took Archie out for a couple of hours - she hasn't started her new full-time job yet. I wrote out instructions for Anne when she comes to stay here with Archie next weekend. It would have been easier to show her, but she didn't have time before she left.

Then I took Archie to the Links, while JR went shopping. Later, much later, I got a text to say she'd be home soon, but she eventually appeared one and a half hours later! Mind you, she came laden with goodies for afternoon nibbles.

Christine and Rufus came to visit, and we had a pleasant couple of hours nibbling, sipping and yakking. The dogs snoozed, after the initial excitement of viewing the comestibles from afar.

Crostini:
avocado and crispy bacon bits
beetroot purée and feta
pea and mint purée with sun-soaked tomatoes

Skewers:
gnocchi, olive, sun-soaked tomato and basil
prawns and cucumber
spiced chicken and cherry tomato
Bocconcini, basil and sun dried tomato

I could not decide which was my favourite one, so just kept trying them all. They were washed down with a good Edinburgh gin. Or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.