Da Auld Paet Factory

It remains breezy, but it's been packed full of sunshine all day long :-)

It's been another day in the office, and working with more photo orders.  I also spent a large part of the day going through photos with my boss.  Enjoyed a big walk with Sammy after tea, settled down for a peerie while, before I head to work at the pub later.

I nipped oug of town at lunchtime for my walk.  I headed down to Brindister and enjoyed a walk all around the loch, well apart from the wet feet!  This old factory lies in ruins now.  It was built in the early 1950s by South African James Lance.  He cut out the peat, mushed it up and made small briquettes for sale.  It was a great idea, but everyone worked their own peat, so it really was a non starter, and soon closed.  Maybe a great idea in our modern age, where everyone is so busy now.  Taken at the SW side of Brindister Loch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.