MPI Discovery

This is not exactly what I planned to blip today, but it's not often you see something like this.  I could see it from the bus on my way home from work and was trying to work out what it was, and when I went out to try and get some more sunset shots, it was still there.  The sun was going down and I had to zoom into it, so it's a bit fuzzy, but thought you might be interested to see it.

We googled it when I got home and it's the 'next generation' of wind turbine installation vessel and is designed to transport, lift and install wind turbines and their foundations.  Apparently it's the world's most advanced and most efficient vessel.

The Rampion Offshore Wind Farm is currently under construction off the Sussex coast between Worthing and Shoreham, but can be seen from here and sometimes we can even hear the piling.  There'll be 116 turbines that will stretch for about 17 miles in an east to west direction, and 6 miles north to south, with the closest turbine being about 8 miles from the shore.

I know a lot of people don't like wind farms, but I don't mind them, and at the end of the day, we all want power.  I just hope it's not going to end up as close as this vessel is though!

I've finished the first week of my new job and have really enjoyed it. I can honestly say that I've not laughed as much at work as I have in the last three days - they're really laid back and good humoured people :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.