CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

46201 Princess Elizabeth crosses the viaduct

I went to photograph a steam train coming down the Golden Valley and into Stroud, en route for Gloucester. I had tried to find a good place to view it because the sun's position is quite a challenge when there are no clouds to limit glare. I was going to film it on its return just before 6pm as well and thought I would go to see its approach with the setting sun shining from the west, which would likely be a better shot.

I walked to the newly built public garden space on former waste dump next to Capel's Mill above which Brunel built a railway viaduct. This brick version replaced the original wooden viaduct quite early on in the railway's history and incorporated the old industrial mill site built to use the water power of the River Frome. The canal you can see in the picture is a replacement section of the newly restored canal because the road by pass in the 1970s was built along the line of the then disused canal.

Whilst waiting for the steam engine I met Mike and Rebecca out with their dog who were also keen to see it. We got chatting, with a lot of discussion about the delights of walking locally and taking photos of kingfishers on the river beneath this viaduct. I was also delighted to hear that whilst crossing over the footbridge recently Mike was able to film two otters swimming upstream, and he showed me the clip on his phone.  What a delight to actually see evidence of their presence rather than just the rumours which I'd heard. Now I shall have to look out for them too, being a huge fan of otters.

We had to take Bomble to the vets as we had worried about him a few days ago. But by the time we had made an appointment he had got better and in fact the vet found he was in quite good health. Soon after we got home I set off to film the steam train again having identified a possible footpath crossing the railway which would give exactly the right sort of viewpoint.

Once there I met a man who spends many hours filming all sorts of trains and whilst chatting he told me about various other odd trains that pass by. I think I will stick to steam trains. When the excursion train finally arrived on its return journey it was without the steam engine, being pulled by a diesel instead, which means that the engine must have broken down. So I'm glad to have seen it this morning.  

I wasn't sure which photo to blip so have added two others to my 'Extra photo' showing it approaching and then crossing the viaduct. I'd be interested to know which you prefer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.