Beautiful light over the canal at Saul Junction

I went to do a shop near Gloucester and on the way home drove to a picture framing supplier whom I used a couple of years ago. Mervyn remembered me and we had a good chat especially about steam trains which he seems to want to see when they pass by locally. I bought some foam board from Mervyn, with one side covered in adhesive so I can practice mounting some of my pictures for display purposes.

Very close to Mervyn's warehouse is the Gloucester to Sharpness canal at Saul Junction. I stood on the swing bridge for a few minutes just watching the quiet activities of birds on the water and in the air. I was surprised how many different species there were.

The light was beautiful as the clouds receded so when this family of swans swam towards me I took some pictures.  The bonus was these three ducks who took off just before I shot this image and also flew towards me. A man walked across the bridge and we chatted for a few minutes. He lives on a narrowboat in the marina close to the big crane in the distance. He said he thought the swans had reared at least ten young this year. I counted seven here and others may have been still further away in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.