Sarah H. at the Heritage Trust conference

I felt a bit under the weather today as the late night had hit my vocal chords and my chest infection. I was rather quieter and stayed inside the hall for the presentations until lunchtime. I then went to explore the interesting old port area of the city centre and really liked the old buildings and atmosphere which the ongoing regeneration of the city has brought about. 

Currently Hull is the UK City of Culture 2017, an event held once every four years, highlighting one location in the UK and promoting arts and culture as a means of celebration and regeneration. There was definitely a new pride being felt by the people I met who were unremittingly friendly and amusing. I now wish we had more time to explore further. Unfortunately we had to drive home after the conference ended at 5pm.

But I did get to talk to Sarah H. again. She had collared me yesterday to be interviewed for the short film she and her twin sister have been commissioned to make about the conference. I caught her while she was a having a short break in the very dark entrance near the rather sombre elegant staircase up to the main hall.

She kindly agreed to let me grab a quick photo with my bigger camera and her smile will be another lasting legacy of the conference. She was on her way home to Birmingham just as we were leaving, but she must have been very tired as she had been working for all three days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.