An Escape to Vermont

Dear Diary,

I just needed a diversion yesterday so I jumped into my car and drove to Vermont!  A three hour ride but so worth it.  With Hurricane Matthew barreling up the coast I was afraid that the foliage would be ruined and I wanted to see the glorious colors.  It isn't quite peak season yet but it was splendid just the same.  I went first to see the tiny Tasha Tudor Museum in Brattleboro.  I have been in love with her work since I was small and even more so as I've come to know more about the life she lived.  I have several books about her.  This year's exhibit was about her gardens and I made a promise to myself to do the tour of her home and gardens in June next year.

Then, after a lovely lunch, it was off to the fabulous Vermont Country Store...one of the best shopping experiences on earth in my humble opinion.  It is a step back in time and you can find many of the items and products you remember from the 1940's and 50's beautifully reproduced and, best of all, for sale!   I even found the Evening of Paris perfume I use to buy for my mom at Christmas!  The funniest thing was, it actually smelled really nice!

I bought a wonderful memory, something I had in elementary school, but I will save it to share later., it is a whole other story.  The entire day was enchanting and so worth the six hour round trip!  Next June, when I go on the tour of Tasha's garden and house I will stay over night in the area and, of course, return to the Vermont Country Store!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.