A Mushroom Trail

Dear Diary,

While I was out collecting my mail, I notice that my neighbor across the road had some white spots glowing in the sun on his property.  I, of course, had to walk across and see what it was.  This corner of his field was full of mushrooms!  They made a sort of trail that snaked through the soft moss.  Tucked under some trees to the left was a cluster of entirely different mushrooms, extra photo.

I really wish I knew more about wild mushrooms.  Reading my Thoreau book has so inspired me to look more closely at what is in my own backyard or, in this case, what is right across the street.  The game Walden is also inspiring me in a different way.

As a teacher, I loved making books with my students, especially pop-up books or books that you had to interact with.  I've started one called Kindreds, Thoreau's name for the animal companions he had while he was at Walden.  One page has a pop-up cabin! (Now, that took some thinking to figure out how to do it!) I am having so much fun working on it.  Once I get further along I will post a picture or two here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.