The garden's last hurrah...

Dear Diary,

What a crazy busy day yesterday was!  It was like a three ring circus with Stephanie, Michael and Matt all "doing their thing".  The good news is I have heat finally!  HOORAY!  It is the first morning in over a week I didn't have to bundle up and put on gloves to make my coffee.  That is such a relief.

This is a rather sorry bouquet of asters and one lone phlox on my breakfast table this morning.  Matt will continue the cut back next week but he made a good start.  Although I hate to see the flowers disappear I can't help but think of the phrase, "In the autumn, every leaf is a flower."

Today will be much quieter, thank goodness.  I have to say that I am delighted with Stephanie.  She saw my Thoreau biography and said that she just started his book, Walden!  Small world, isn't it.  She also said her favorite author is Louisa May Alcott, my ancestor cousin!  Needless to say, an instant connection was forged. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.