The Peak is Near!

Dear Diary,

My yard is surrounded by pine trees so I don't get the sense of the fall progression to peak color but it is nearly there.  Places down the road are ablaze with reds and oranges but the effect is much subtler here.  Just a swath of yellow and orange through the green.

Traffic has been heavy this week since the Fryeburg Fair is happening and, of course, there are all the "leaf peepers" coming north to see the foliage.  It won't last.  The fair is over tomorrow and by this time next week the foliage will be past peak so things will calm down.

There are certain places I like to go to see the foliage so I will check them out over the next week; I am sure you will be seeing a few more colorful shots.  Then there is the big "drop", when the leaves begin to tumble from the trees.  I especially enjoy it when the wind picks up and the leaves swirl through the air.  Some people find it depressing, I find it quite joyful really.  Every year the trees teach us how to let go...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.