Fall Splendor at Burnt Meadow Pond

Dear Diary,

This is one of my favorite places to view the fall show of color.  Little Burnt Meadow Pond is just a few miles down the road from my house.  I make a small desk calendar every year and October this year shows another view of the riot of color that is always present here.  I suspect this photograph will be my October page next year.

Funny how some spontaneous element "makes" the photograph...for me it was the ring created by a fish jumping up to grab a snack.  I was too late to catch the action but the ever expanding ring was just the right touch to the image.

I love photographing fall colors on a grey day.  To me, the colors are enhanced by the moisture in the air.  Sunny days burn out the color but days like today simply add to the effect.  It is a spectacular year this year with the colors especially vivid and dramatic.  In a day or two we will reach peak and then it is a slow transition to the subtle black and brown days of November.  Each has its beauty, each their meditative possibilities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.