Remembering Grandpa

Dear Diary,

My dear grandpa, who for some unfathomable reason I called "Frappy", died 40 years ago today, just two weeks shy of his 88th birthday.  He lived with us from April through October each year putting in and tending the big vegetable gardens we had.  This old photo, probably 60+ years old, is how I will always remember him...bow tie and fedora and, although you can't see it, some pieces of hard candy in his pocket for a little hand to find.

He was a man of infinite patience who was never bothered by the constant questions of a curious little girl.  He taught me to love the earth and the plants that grow in it.  His stories always enthralled me and his gentle Quaker ways made a lasting impact on my life.  40 years is a long time but I remember every little detail about him.  I miss you Frappy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.