Oh, deer!

Dear Diary,

The deer come fairly often and I was happy to get a photo of this young lad, probably around 6 months old.  We call them "button bucks". You can just see the emerging bumps of his antlers.  There were three of them this time and they seemed quite at ease.  There is a rather large mound of dirt on the back edge of the field, well covered with grass, and one playfully climbed up on it and jumped around, king of the hill!  It made me laugh.  Children are children whatever the species.

I remember one time my friends and I decided to lay out a village in the woods.  We swept away paths that led to houses and stores, all carefully delineated by clearing areas between trees.  We never really "built" anything but we had fun with the make-believe of it.  We didn't need anything but a broom and our imagination to have fun in those days.  I need very little else now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.