Reflections at the Edge of the Pond

Dear Diary,

The color has reached peak now and there is no better place to view it than at the edge of Burnt Meadow Pond, not far from my house.  Still air brought perfect reflections.  Ah...autumn in Maine.

Another autumn thing is Moose.  It is the "rut" as they say here and the big males, bulls, are a bit loopy to say the least.  Last night I was driving over to Ossipee to pick up my cousin Mary at the bus station when one HUGE male walked right in front of my car!  EEK!!!  I slammed on the breaks and swerved while the balmy fellow just stood in the middle of the road calmly observing the whole thing.  I am glad to report that the moose rambled off unscathed and me and my car carried on after a brief interlude to reposition my heart which had ended up in my mouth.  Boy, I wish I had my camera at the ready!  what a blip that would have been!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.